RSS

Get to know Notions of Brechin ~ TCN Spring Craft Challenge Winner

06 Apr

Notions Embroidery Brechin banner

Meet Janice…The Owner of Notions Of Brechin

Notions of Brechin. logo

How difficult can it be to write about yourself & your business? The answer is very! But here goes…..

I started machine embroidery as a hobby way back in 2003 when my husband & I had a guest house in Elgin, although I had been sewing a making clothes since a youngster…using my mums Turquoise Singer machine…I guess that dates me! As I was tied to the house waiting for guests coming and going it was an ideal way to fill my days.

I made clothes for my children as they grew up & my love of crafting & making has always been present. We moved to Angus, Scotland in 2005 & opened our own restaurant, but I was still to be found at my machine late into the night completing orders for ebay customers!

As time went by I ‘branched out’ & opened a small shop but found that it wasn’t right for my creative nature, being tied to opening hours limited the work I could do. I now work from home & love it. I chiefly do corporate logos but in my spare time I create my own styles using clothing or items I’ve found in charity shops. My other passion is working with tweed & I make random patchwork cushions & bags which I now send worldwide. My business is still developing & I now get asked to do custom orders which I find very satisfying especially when given free rein to express my own ideas.

Tweedll Dee by Notions bag

My outlet for my work is mostly via facebook & word of mouth, I don’t sell on ebay now, but I am in the process of setting up a website which I hope will increase exposure & sales!

My most popular products at the moment are cushions, handmade from Scottish Linen, embroidered with Scottish Thistles, I have sent loads over to the USA & tweed patchwork cushions which all have a wee stag embroidered on them & the brooches are very popular too.

If you would like to see more of my work, or to contact me please visit either of my pages:

https://www.facebook.com/notionsbrechin#

https://www.facebook.com/TweedllDee

 

Her Winning Entry ~  a customized, vintage handmade, woollen fabric, undertakers jacket.

 

Tweed’ll Dee — A range of Tweed products, created in the craft studio of Notions of Brechin, Angus, Scotland. Each piece is a unique, handmade one-off

The name ‘Tweed’ll Dee’ for this range of products, from Notions Embroidery Brechin , loosely translates from the Doric language as ‘Tweed Will Do’. Doric is still prevalent in my home town of Ballater on Royal Deeside…& the Dee also refers to the famous river Dee. Although i now live in Brechin, Angus…i’m not that far from my roots!
Each of the products is handmade I don’t take custom orders or commissions for these, if you see one you like please message the page to complete a purchase. x

Tweedll Dee by Notions banner

 

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Get to know Notions of Brechin ~ TCN Spring Craft Challenge Winner

  1. Diane

    April 6, 2014 at 4:48 pm

    A very interesting story, thanks very much for sharing some of your experiences with us and of course your gorgeous makes 🙂

     
  2. pennyjanedesignsukPenny

    April 7, 2014 at 9:53 am

    Really lovely work. I am looking forward to getting to know more about it over on your websites!

     

Leave a Reply

 
