RSS

A Crafters Journey ~ An Update from Diane

11 May

It’s been a while since we had an update from Diane on how she is doing with her crafting journey, so I got in touch and asked if she could write something for us, to let us know how things are going and here it is…

******************************************************

Hello there, long time no see. That’s entirely my fault though, so don’t feel bad 🙂 I suffer from one of life’s ailments; poor time management. That’s all being worked on though; keep reading and you’ll find out what I mean.

Update on where I’m at on this crafter’s journey I really, really want to be on.

That’s right, you read correctly in that last sentence, I’m still loving crafting! That’s what is driving me on. It’s what gives me joy and what keeps me semi-sane and fills as many hours of the day as I can possibly get away with, without the house being disgusting, the dogs running a muck and my daughter not having a life. It keeps my brain active too as I am constantly learning new skills and concepts and remembering old ones, it’s very stimulating.

Someone asked me the other day what TV programmes do I watch, as I’d been saying that I hadn’t watched any of the programmes which were being talked about. My response was that I craft, which surprised her. I do watch some TV, of course I do but it’s invariably Create and Craft, house linked programmes or dramas such as ‘Call the Midwife’. This is why I think doing some kind of business within the field makes so much sense to me.

My Folksy Shop Update (By DW )

by DW

I made a sale! Yes indeedy on my Folksy page. I sold a set of the Christmas coasters I made.  I was chuffed to bits and the customer was happy, so that was a buzz. Unfortunately I didn’t keep the momentum up by making more although I did try. I was unable to get more of the felt I had used to make them, quickly enough; I found out that there was only one stockist of that felt and they had none left. Hopefully lesson learnt and I must get more of that before the season falls upon us again.

Coasters By DW

******************************************************

Learning ~ Business advice, webinars & workshops

I may not have been keeping that Folksy page stocked but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been busy behind the scenes so to speak. I’m constantly reading advice for small crafty businesses. A couple in particular are The Enterprise Nation, HandmadeHorizons and Grace Marshall’s ‘Productivity Profits’. Some of you might be interested to know that there’s a FREE webinar being offered by  Handmade Horizons at the minute:

“Are you a mum who makes or dad who designs?”

“Do you work part-time or fit your business around family life?”

Then you will know how crucial it is to be as effective and efficient as possible when running and marketing your creative enterprise!

We’re delighted to be able to invite you to join us for a free webinar we’re giving for The Design Trust Business Club later this month. During this fun, one hour session we will be will sharing secrets of success for parents running a creative business, based on our own experiences and those of the mums we have worked with over the past two years.

Join us for this exclusive free session and learn:

  • the questions you need to ask yourself, if you want a business you love
  • how to work from home without losing your mind
  • the best ways to promote your business when you have limited time (and money)
  • some of the most common pitfalls to avoid

The webinar will be taking place at 1pm on May 21st and will be hosted by Patricia van den Akker, Director of The Design Trust. Spaces for these webinars are usually reserved for the Design Trust Business Club members only (by paid monthly or annual subscription) so we’re delighted to be able to invite you to join us as friends of Handmade Horizons! 

Spaces are limited, so be sure to sign up through the following link asap:

https://www4.gotomeeting.com/register/957723583

******************************************************

Think productive workshops

Grace Marshall a ninja business support person who has a blog, website and the full social network thing covered and does loads of workshops. She has a workshop this Thursday in Stafford – below is part of the email I received about it.

“Fancy a day in Stafford getting your head clear, all your ‘stuff’ under control and some ninja tips and tools under your belt?

“For the first time in ages I actually feel like I have some control over my time.”

That’s what Louise Clive, a facilities manager said after coming on my 1-day “How to Get Things Done” workshop.

If you’re familiar with my blog and newsletters, you’ll know I always say you can’t control time. What gives Louise this feeling actually, is that she is more in control of her work, and more able to work with the time that she has, rather than be constantly reacting and fighting with it.

What about you? Could you do with that breath of fresh air, that light at the end of the tunnel, that feeling of control – and more importantly, the tools to give yourself that more often?

If so, book your place now and use my personal discount code – Staff30M – to get a whopping 30% off your ticket.

Join us here – hope you can make it!

That’ll probably be no good to most of you as Linda will have to be mega quick to get this posted in time for you to read it and organise yourself but keep a look out at those sites and there’s all-sorts of help and motivation out there. GO GET SOME! You’re worth it! 🙂 A lot of it can be accessed free too; such as blogs, so don’t go assuming you have to pay a fortune to get advice.  Comment on this post if you’d like to hear about more of such business support events/sites and we’ll see how we could manage that.

This week I started using the day planner Grace provides, which is free and I’m trialling Google calendar. It’s still early days but at least I’m focusing on my issue and trying to remedy it, which is all good for me and any progress I want to make.

******************************************************

Changing My Business Name

I’m also giving serious thought to changing the name of my business as ‘By DW’ doesn’t grab me at all, so how do I expect anyone else to find it appealing? I’m currently thinking of ‘QuerkiWuerki’ (no other matches appeared on Facebook for that name) or ‘Quirky house’ or another one is Bideetou’ (by D to you). The goods I want to sell are all items for the house and of course are different to shop bought items as they are handcrafted. We could do a kind of customer survey and you can tell me which one you prefer, by commenting below?

That’s enough for you for now but please do nip by my blog too at http://diwarli.blogspot.co.uk/ to see some of the things I’m enjoying making right now.

Diane x

 
 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
