RSS

Just About Beads

29 Apr

An unusual post for me here on The Crafty Network, as this post is all about Beads.  I think many of you know that I personally make jewellery, although I did have a dabble last year in mixed media design too, but I much prefer playing with beads.

Yesterday I visited the Up North Bead Fair, the first of their events this year which is held at Haydock Park Racecourse.  Where you can find over 30 Bead & Jewellery making suppliers all selling lots and lots of lovely beads, a very dangerous place for a beadaholique, especially one with not much money!

(See their website for a list of exhibitors and links to their websites http://www.beadsupnorth.co.uk/). You may recognise one or two of them, Purple Penguin Beads, Lampwork Beads By Jo

Normally when I visit this event I have a list which I never keep to and quite a healthy budget which I always over-spend.  But unfortunately yesterday I had no list and not much money.  So I was undecided if I should actually go, but as I only get the opportunity a couple of times a year to feast my eyes and touch all those lovely beads in just one place, I had to go.  I can recommend to anyone who has an interest in beads to visit a Bead fair if they get the chance. Having not much money however, allowed me to go to the fair and have a look around at a more leisurely pace and more objectively than usual, no frenzied buying for me!

Which is why I probably took more time to look at some amazing beaded house designs and talk to a lovely lady from the Beadworkers Guild Since Christmas I have been trying to teach myself a few beading techniques by watching some You Tube videos, but seeing the Beadworkers guild members work made me realise what a huge area of beading this is, not only can you make fantastic jewellery designs, you can also decorate clothing, bags etc and make pictures and sculptural items. Their work was amazing.  I really should have taken more photos to show you, but as my phone was about to die I only managed to take these.

Snakes & Ladders

Every year The Beadworkers Guild hold an annual Challenge. The last Challenge was ~

‘It’s all in the game’

Above is the winning Group Entry ~ Snakes & Ladders by the Horniman Beaders

A little blurry than I’d hoped, but I hope you can still see the amount of work that must have gone into this amazing piece of work, everything has been beaded, right down to the boards, snakes, ladders, dice, markers and even the dice shaker.  A well deserved winner.

I got so carried away at looking at these lovely little village houses below, I’m not quite sure if these were produced as part of another challenge or by a different group of beaders, as I didn’t notice any details about them, apart from you could vote for your favourite. If anyone can provide any details I would be obliged?  I found these fascinating and I can’t imagine how much work and time must have gone into them.

Photo1

From Left to Right: Village Pond and The Toll House by Carol Harrison, Post Office by Beryl Martin,  The white House by Kathryn Halfpenny.

Photo2

Beading Retreat, Bead Shop and spa by Kathryn Halfpenney.

photo3

(Top) St Bede’s Parish Church by Pat Ward, and (bottom) Red Rose Public House with cottage and windwill by Joyce Clough.

photo5

Aspen House and Car by Margaret Jones

photo6

Greengrocer’s shop and cottage by Maria Lord

photo4

Flowers at Maison Delier by Vera Turner

I did pick up a Beadworkers Guild leaflet which gives you details about their organisation,  I have scanned it and you can see the details below if you are maybe interested in joining them?  Current Membership costs in the United Kingdom are | April 2013-March 2014 | £29.00, which I don’t think is that bad considering the members benefits.

.

Also, if you are interested the next Up North bead Fair will be held at the same location on the 28th July, I better start saving!

Linda x

PS. If you want to know how much I spent, I spent £25, I was very restrained!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2013 in Featured Business, Promotions

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Just About Beads

  1. georgiapdesigns

    April 29, 2013 at 3:55 pm

    Reblogged this on Georgia Place and commented:
    Rather than re-writing this post which I wrote for The Crafty Network about The Up North Bead Fair, I thought it would be much easier to just reblog it. Lx

     
  2. Hannah Ackroyd

    April 30, 2013 at 7:26 am

    Oh wow these models are stunning…I’d never thought about beading like that! With so many projects n the go at the moment though, it’s probably not the ideal time for me to take up another craft just now!

     
  3. lizzierosejewellery

    May 2, 2013 at 5:19 am

    I love beads too Linda – I think you must have been overwhelmed with all those beaded items too! Did you buy some interesting loose beads? Cath

     
    • The Crafty Network

      May 2, 2013 at 7:43 am

      Not really, I’ve got tons of beads I just needed something to inspire me to use them, so I bought some bead caps and spacers. Although I did buy some nice lampwork cabochon orphans as I like making rings with them. Lx.

       
      • lizzierosejewellery

        May 2, 2013 at 1:10 pm

        What’s an orphan? Have I missed something? It’s good to stock up on things that go in-between the beads isn’t it?

         
      • The Crafty Network

        May 2, 2013 at 3:16 pm

        Orphans are what Lampworkers call the beads they make with scrap bits of glass or single beads that don’t go with a set, or at least I think thats why! I don’t know about you, but I always find it difficult to buy bead caps the right size, especially on the internet, thats why I like buying them at bead fairs where I can see them and guage their size. Lx

         
      • lizzierosejewellery

        May 14, 2013 at 1:36 am

        Thanks for the info! It’s really hard buying bead related items on line as you can’t gauge the size, shine and strength of the findings but it’s often the easiest way to buy! Cath x

         

Leave a Reply

 
