RSS

A Crafters Journey has returned….

01 Nov

Oh my goodness! What have I done? Or more to the point, what am I trying to do? HEEELLPP!

That sentence may make you wonder what daring, outrageously ambitious, dangerous activity I could possibly do within crafting.

My next sentence will make many of you laugh at me.

I’m in the middle of setting up a Folksy shop.

There you go. I’ve admitted it. I was putting off doing anything with a crafty business because I don’t think I’m good enough; there’s not enough time; what about the dogs? What happens if customers are rude about what I make? What do I do about tax? Etc Etc Etc.

I’m fed up of finding reasons not to do anything about starting a craft business. I often lecture my daughter about doing that in life. “There are always plenty of reasons NOT to do things in life; the enjoyment can come when action is taken”. What a hypocrite have I been?! But no longer, I tell you!

I read the article by Penny Jane Designs on The Crafty Network’s home page today; where she says “‘at first it was excruciating putting my work on show”’. I’ve read similar articles by various different crafty companies and I get the Craftseller magazine which is full of helpful hints, tips and inspiration. I was also at a Stampin’ Up craft night last night and starting as a demonstrator was mentioned, as I’ve heard many times.

Something inside me has just clicked.

‘Nothing ventured, nothing gained’.

‘You only regret the things you don’t do, rather than the things you do do’.

‘The time is now’.

I’m so nervous it’s not funny but I’m not going to be a wimp any longer. Even if it doesn’t work out, I’m not going to give up without even starting.

So here I am in the middle of setting up a Folksy shop where I’m being confronted by things like store name (aaarrrgghhh, I haven’t got a clue?!!); shop banner – ‘in a graphics package this needs to be 85 pixels high, and 726 pixels wide’ (how on earth do I make sure it’s just that size?!!) and Google Analytics to see what customers are looking at my shop?!!  An avatar –‘It’s just a little thing but having a good one helps to give your shop a more professional appearance.’ (easy for them to say!)

And you wonder why I’ve decided to write this article instead of facing all that?!

I just went into the graphics programme I have and of course it needed an update to the software. How naïve was I to think I could get this done ‘just quickly’?

I’m off to collect my daughter from school now and pay for the car tax, so I’ll finish this article later tonight when I WILL have completed more of the setting up a shop process….. maybe that has to be my new mantra i.e ‘I will!’ 🙂

………………….

I’ve done it! It’s 16.30 on October 11th 2012 and I’ve actually done it!

……….. ‘By DW

Your shop currently has no items, try listing one for sale.’

I had to write a paragraph of 400 letters to describe my ‘shop’ (I still find it strange to call ‘it’ a shop).  This is what I wrote.

‘Here’s my very first entry into the world of crafty goodiness. To start my new venture I’m going to make placemats, coasters and flowery wreaths for the home. If you don’t see what you’re looking for with my products, please do ask. The more customer requests I can accomplish the more my range will develop. Favourite colours for the flowers?Specific shapes to be used on the placemats? Contact me and we’ll try to make it happen.’

I just know in a month’s time I’m going to cringe at that paragraph but it’s complete.

A very tiny step has been taken but boy, was it/is nerve wracking? Hell, yes!  I haven’t even put any items in the shop yet. 🙂

Diane x

http://diwarli.blogspot.co.uk/

~~~~~~~~~~xXxXx~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks Diane, great to hear from you again and fingers crossed your Folksy shop is a success.  But remember nobody will know you are there unless you promote, promote and promote some more.  Oh, you also need to let us know your Folksy shop name and link? Please?    Linda x

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “A Crafters Journey has returned….

  1. Penny

    November 1, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    Hi Diane,
    I am delighted you have taken the step to set up a Folksy shop. There – you’ve done it! Looking forward to the links and seeing some work. Crafting seems to be a very supportive community and I think we all learn as we go along. I certainly still am. Linda is so right about promote, promote, promote. Eeek!
    Best of luck,
    Penny (Penny Jane Designs)

     
  2. lizzierosejewellery

    November 2, 2012 at 5:56 am

    Good Luck with your Folksy Shop – a busy time ahead! Get things listed as soon as poss – people are thinking of Christmas! Cath

     
  3. Yowe

    November 4, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    Well done on taking that big step Diane.Good luck with the shop!
    Alison.

     

Leave a Reply

 
