RSS

Featured Crafter ~ Penny Jane Designs

08 Oct

I haven’t featured a crafter on here for quite a while, mainly because a lot of the Craft Challenge Winners have not taken up the opportunity to promote themselves with a feature and also due to my laziness at not promoting this feature more.  But I must apologise to this crafter as she sent me her article the middle of September and it has taken me until now to be able to find a good slot for her.  (The Craft Challenge does get in the way sometimes, lol!)

Please tell us a bit about your background and your business and how you got started?

Penny Jane Designs emerged in 2007 and followed on from my years of involvement in community arts across Birmingham.  I realised I was spending all my time putting together examples for workshops and all my energy was going into running workshops with no time for my own artistic pursuits.  My background is in textiles and I was running workshops covering every art or craft category under the sun but at a basic level.  I really wanted to take more time to develop an art form of my own.  After my partner encouraged me I took a chance and exhibited a somewhat eclectic range of pieces at Birmingham’s Artsfest.  At first it was excruciating putting my work on show but I was so pleased when I sold some of it.  During the weekend I was also asked if I was interested in taking part in several craft fairs, which was to be another huge learning curve for me.

Tell us about your experience in crafting? Did you require any special training and/ or qualifications to make your crafts? Do you think it is essential to get training and would you recommend any courses or training?

I did a Fashion and Textiles degree way back in 1993 – when the internet was just a twinkle in everybody’s eye and I have just got my Masters in Art, Health and Well-being, which although it was very academic gave me some useful bits of information along the way.  The most useful bit of training I have done is various short day courses with the International Feltmakers Association at Ridware Arts.  I have learned so much from Melanie there.  Her knowledge and patience are second to none!

I don’t think it is important what level you are working at but I think a well-planned course can help with organisational skills and give the confidence and help to see a design through from the sketching stage to the final product.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-felt-studio-at-ridware-arts/108316492628657

http://www.feltmakers.com/

https://www.facebook.com/pages/International-Feltmakers-Association/207453496012841

Where do you sell/ exhibit your work and what has been most successful for you? What if any are your future plans for your crafts?

Most of my sales come from face to face contact with the lovely people I meet at craft fairs.  I have sold work online but this has been slow and I admit I haven’t really gone for it big style yet….

I have various online stores and I am experimenting with paying a small fee to Etsy for a few weeks which gets my listings up when people search.  We’ll see how that goes!

http://www.etsy.com/shop/Pennyjanedesigns

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Penny-Jane-Designs/192153117479243

http://folksy.com/shops/pennyjanedesigns

www.pennyjanedesigns.co.uk

I am listed with some other online shops but am working hard to get them up and running alongside my others.  It’s certainly a challenge to keep track of what is for sale in them all, along with updating them regularly so things don’t look stale.

I really enjoy the feedback at craft fairs.  I try to really listen to people when they say “Oh that would be nice if it had a different backing” or “ I would prefer it like this.”  I am also ready to do little things like swap a brooch back for a clip if the customer pops back in five minutes.  It can make all the difference to a sale sometimes and I want people to be happy with what they have bought from me.  I made some little needle-felted babies recently and a customer held it up to her jacket and said she would like it as a brooch so that’s how they developed further.  I have also been asked recently by other crafters whether they could buy some pieces of my hand-made felt that they can cut up, sew and craft with.  They are now on my sites and will be for sale at my next event!

http://www.spacehopperevents.com/

https://www.facebook.com/MoonandLightMarkets

What have been your favourite or most challenging pieces that you have made and what inspired you to make them?

What a difficult question!  I put a lot into each piece so it’s difficult to choose a favourite really.

I am fond of my dry-needle felted babies.

But then I love my hairclips too – both the flowers and the Art Deco style ones.

And then there’s my embellished records and felted wall hangings.

It’s just too difficult to choose as I have times when each of these is a favourite and it’s all I ever want to make.  It’s the obsessive artistic streak in me.  Each one is a challenge to make the first time round.

Where and how do you keep your creative inspiration?

I find that the more I do, the more inspired I get.  I have always been an ideas person with scrapbooks and envelopes full of magazine cuttings and postcards.  One thing I remember from art college was that none of us design in a vacuum.  Ideas can come from everywhere at any time.  If I am blocked however I won’t carry on.  I will go out in the garden, take the dog for a walk or go for a mooch round the shops.  I find that switching off can be the best way for the spark to happen!

What keeps you motivated to continue in this business?

Sheer pig-headedness.

After I left Uni I really didn’t have the knowledge or confidence that I needed.  I am amazed by young people now who are so business minded and savvy about marketing.  It’s taken a while but I now believe in myself, my products and my ability to show them off to people without cringing (too much!)

What are your goals/plans for the future of your business? Do you have any plans to further your skills or to learn something new?

Well, I don’t really think I will be going for world domination with my felt-making as there are so many talented textile/ felt artists out there but I think there is room for us all.  I would like to see my work in galleries and shops so do let me know if there are any outlets looking for stock!  I have ridiculous amounts of ideas about where I want to go and items I wish to make – and not just from felt.  Watch this space!

What would be your 3 essential pieces of craft equipment if you were stranded on a desert island?

These would have to be my felting needle and sponge (for nights in front of the camp fire or if I can’t get hold of any water.

My bamboo rolling mat and soap for when I have room to fling warm water around and stick my elbows out.

I think that’s four but I reckon there’ll be room on the island.

When you first started if you could have been given one piece of advice what would it have been and what advice would you like to pass on?

Be business like and don’t be apologetic about your work. Ouch, I’ve done it!

Have cards ready because if you don’t a potential customer is more likely to get in touch with the one whose card they have.

Phone, email or send a link if you say you will as it will be remembered.

Be positive – it’s catching!

That’s a sort of three in one bit of advice.  I’ve never stuck to the rules.

Lastly where can we find you?

All these places!

http://www.etsy.com/shop/Pennyjanedesigns

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Penny-Jane-Designs/192153117479243

http://folksy.com/shops/pennyjanedesigns

www.pennyjanedesigns.co.uk with lists of craft fairs I shall be at.

I would love to hear from you.  I am also looking for constructive feedback on my online shops as I really value it!

Thanks.

 Penny Jane Designs

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2012 in Featured Sellers

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Featured Crafter ~ Penny Jane Designs

  1. pennyjanedesigns1

    October 9, 2012 at 8:59 am

    It’s fab! Thank you so much for your hard work! I’ve put plenty of links out there in cyber space! Penny

     
    • The Crafty Network

      October 10, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      Thanks Penny, I’m pleased you are happy with it. Lx

       
  2. Diane

    October 11, 2012 at 11:53 am

    It’s a great article. I particularly like these articles as I’m a hopeless case still sitting on the fence about starting any kind of tiny business but I’m now going to make today the day to take a tiny step.

     

Leave a Reply

 
IreneIrving's Crafty Creative

Hand made creative capers, needle felt, fibres and mumbles ;)

Itchy Crochet

on love, life, and crochet

Life with Crafts

How to make the most of your crafty time.

AlikiArtyCraftyMagpie

Just another WordPress.com site

craftyscrappershop

A fine WordPress.com site

Gembobs Inspiration

Gemmas Tutorials, Inventions, Ideas, Inspiration and Creations

Grab a coffee

I felt creative today ... - http://grabacoffee.etsy.com

UK Crochet Patterns

We seriously heart crochet and love to promote patterns in UK terms!

SteinerMomma

Our learning journey; rural life and Steiner education

Catatan dari Zion kota damai

Aku adalah anak Gembala

Baked By Mummy Iris

Behind the scenes! A space to document adventures as Wife, New Mummy and Owner of BAKED BY ME, www.bakedbyme.net

Crochet Eclectics

Exploring the world of crochet

bewishful

Start Making Jewellery

Timetobeme's Blog

a mother/ housewifes jouney to find herself.

Ed Muirhead

New-fashioned folksongs

jojococonut

Rescue a Hidden Gem, Sprinkle a Little Magic, Relove and Treasure.

My Blanket Box

Crochet, crafting and creativity. Join me on my adventures x

Scavenger Annie

Sharing my adventures in alternative embroidery and vintage sewing whilst traversing the world of social media.

designedunique

An artist's struggle to design, make and sell unique creations.

sylviasclosetuk

Speaking my mind and some arts and crafts

Purple RaRa

Stuff I've made

Amiguruthi

www.amiguruthi.wordpress.com

Shoebox2keepsake's Blog

creating custom-designed scrapbooks... just for you

Plums Are Also Round

...well kind of! The ramblings, findings and the little things in life that inspire and make me smile!

Little Me

A little craft bird with insomnia and glitter in her hair

Handmade By Mel Hearn

Made-to-measure curtains and bespoke fabric gifts

trickyfairie

practical magic, pain management and joyful journeys

Mrs M Makes

Join me in my crafty adventures!

Crocknits's Blog

Designed,Handmade,Crochet & Knitted by CrocKnits

Sticky-Back-Tastic

HERE'S ONE I MADE EARLIER

Offbeat Beads

Making and creating contemporary Jewellery and Crafts

carajilloblog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

SciFire

From South Africa With Love

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

The sock garden

Cute & Crazy handmade creatures

JustinaWei

The Fashion/Make up/Lifestyle Blog

HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

made.in.transylvania

an archive of traditional and modern transylvanian crafts

Life isn't so much a puzzle as it is a plan

I live. I think. I write. I shoot. Unedited.

Ondine Blue Designs

The Blue Faerie's Adventures in jewellery making

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

Card Times

for handmade cards!

Crafting Glass

My Bohemian Life

Wood and Rope

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside ⚓

embroiderycrazy

I run an online site selling embroidery machine designs.

