RSS

TCN CRAFT CHALLENGE ~ It’s Just Black & White ~ Please Vote!

13 Sep

THANK YOU VOTING HAS NOW CLOSED FOR THIS CRAFT CHALLENGE ~ ANY VOTES MADE AFTER 8PM WILL NOT BE COUNTED.  THE WINNER AND RUNNERS UP WILL BE ANNOUNCED AT 9PM.

Welcome to The Crafty Network Blog Craft Challenge.  We are now asking for people to VOTE for their favourite entry from the selection of entries below, to enable us to declare a Winner and 2 Runners Up of this challenge on Friday evening.

(Not sure what this is all about, then please visit: Challenge Rules and see details about the theme for this challenge in the previous post.)

Thank you to the 23 very talented people who have entered this our first challenge after the summer holidays break, it’s good to see many regulars back as well as some new crafters giving it a go this week.  As always I love seeing how everyone has interpreted the theme and I think the Black & White theme looks amazing and really stands out as a collective of different crafts.

All they need now is your support by taking on the difficult task of voting for your favourite!

THE VOTING! 

In order to declare a WINNER of this Competition, we need YOU our lovely Followers to comment below this post quoting the No. of the photo you like best.  For those of you who are undecided, you can vote for more than one, but limit it to choosing just 3 and please make it clear which is your first, second and third choice.

ie. No. 1 = 3pts (1st choice),   No. 2 = 2pts (2nd choice), No. 6 = 1pt (3rd choice).

If you pick just one, this will count as 3 points.

You can also send in your votes via email if you wish to:  thecraftynetwork@gmail.com or message me via the TCN Facebook page

(Please Note:  The Crafty Network, will not use or retain your email addresses for any marketing purposes and once the vote has been counted, your emails will be deleted).

*************************************************************************************************************************

The voting will close at 8PM on FRIDAY and the winner with the most points will be announced at 9PM, along with the 2 runners-up. 

*************************************************************************************************************************

Thank you & Good luck with your choices, as always this is a really hard decision.

Please click on the first photo and this will take you to a bigger view of the photos.  (Sometimes this can take a little while to load, sorry!)  Also, below the photos are the pages links and the inspiration behind each entry.

LINKS TO ALL THE ENTRIES:

1.        Liz Swinbank ~ Lime Green Lizzie www.limegreenlizzie.co.uk,

Little Houses in free machine embroidery

2.       Knitting Paula ~

Shaggy Bag, is my own creation, using a mixture of wools and stitches. The bag is lined and all hand stitched. the closing is a magnetic fastening and button. Each Shaggy Bag is totally unique, as no 2 are the same.

3.    Angelas Cute Crafts ~ http://www.etsy.com/shop/Angelascutecrafts?ref=seller_info  http://www.facebook.com/angelascutecrafts

Knitted Zebra Hat

4.    Quirky Quartz ~ www.quirkyquartz.com/jet-pendant.html

Jet Pendant

5.    Say It ~ http://folksy.com/items/2875926-Oslo-black-and-white-button-necklace

Black and white button necklace

6.    Stardust Glass Fusing ~ http://www.stardustglassfusing.co.uk/

This is one of the first dishes I ever made, lots of white hearts, sprinkled with white frit (crushed glass) and mica for a bit of pearly sparkle!

My work is available from:
www.glosartscrafts.co.uk & www.by-local.co.uk

7.   Crafty Bags ~ www.facebook.com/CRAFTYBAGS

Knitted bag

8.       Blue Button Press ~ http://bluebuttonpress.wordpress.com/

http://www.etsy.com/shop/bluebuttonpress

Heart Card

9.     Woolrush ~ Website www.woolrush.weebly.com Facebook http://facebook.com/woollygael

‘Stonehaven’ – hand spun in undyed natural shades of black and grey Shetland wool and designed and hand knitted by me.

10.  Ring O Roses Jewellery ~ www.ringorosesjewellery.co.uk

www.facebook.com/ringoroses

http://www.etsy.com/shop/RingORosesJewellery

http://www.ringorosesjewellery.blogspot.co.uk/

Bracelet called ‘Earl Grey’.

You’d think that I’d applied a B&W effect to the photograph but I honestly haven’t.  If you look closely you can just about see the tiniest hint of a pinky colour reflecting in one of the crystals.  The components are all in a gunmetal finish and the beads are grey quartz and Chinese crystal in various shades of silver grey.

11.  JoJo’s Makes & Bakes ~ https://www.facebook.com/pages/JoJos-Makes-Bakes/173065986127985

A photograph that I took of a park in Billericay, Essex, called Lake Meadows. It is a beautiful park and very popular with residents from all areas, not just local, and of all ages. When I lived in Billericay, I used to visit the park daily to walk my dog (who you can see in the bottom left hand side of the photo!!)

12.  Yowe ~ http://www.yowe.co.uk/

This woolly sheep keyring has been crocheted in pure wool and has a felt face with googly eyes. It retails at £4 (+ £1 P&P) from http://www.yowe.co.uk/ The link to my Facebook page (new likers entered into prize draw) is Yowe

13. Whistling Bird Crafts ~ https://www.facebook.com/handmadelouise

Black & White Bag

14. Mrs M Makes ~ http://mrsmmakes.wordpress.com/2012/09/10/mini-challenge-its-just-black-and-white/

Necklace & Earring Set.

15.  Sarahs Card Creations: http://www.sarahscardcreations.co.uk/
www.facebook.com/sarahscardcreations

I had some really pretty paper that had a lovely black and theme on it, so cut this into panels and backed onto black card. I then added onto a card. The card was then finished with some white ribbon on black card across it and a flower and butterfly embellishment, both of which are black and white.

16.  MissyDee Jewellery ~ http://www.facebook.com/pages/MissyDee-Jewellery/117553831596154?ref=tn_tnmn

Long necklace with deliciously natural patterned gemstones in shades of black with grey and white mottled patterns. Jet black faceted beads catch the light. A chunky metal heart finishes off the necklace.

I love the patterns in gemstones and I try to use them in most of my jewellery.

17.  Arpglass Designs ~ http://www.etsy.com/shop/arpglassdesigns  http://folksy.com/shops/arpglassdesignsand my facebook page is www.facebook.com/arpglassdesigns.

A hand painted candle holder with black cats,  available in both my Etsy and Folksy shops.

18.       Lizzie Gregory ~

This is a record clock I handmade myself.  The record used was black & grey even though I have made the photo black & white too.

19.   Felt-Enchanted ~ https://www.facebook.com/pages/Ooak-Tiny-Cuddles/124254132207  however, I have recently changed my name from Ooak Tiny Cuddles to Felt Enchanted, so I’m trying to get my Likers to follow my new Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Felt-Enchanted/317134718381728?ref=stream as I will be closing down my Ooak Tiny Cuddles page as soon as most of my Likers convert.

It is a Needle Felted sculpture of Falcor, the Luck Dragon from the film, The Neverending Story.

20.  Lynsey Loves ~  Web: http://www.lynseylovesxxx.co.uk, Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Lynsey-Loves-xxx/261444317234324, Blog: http://lynseylovesxxx.blogspot.co.uk/ , Etsy: http://www.etsy.com/shop/lynseylovesxxx

Following on from my other bird cushions I thought I would add the humble Penguin, getting into the winter season and all that.

21.   Waterlily Cards ~ www.facebook.com/waterlilycards  website is http://www.waterlilycards.co.uk/

I’ve entered my Silent Movies themed black and white card

22.  Handcrafted By Picto ~ https://www.facebook.com/HandcraftedbyPicto Blog:
http://handcraftedbypicto.blogspot.co.uk/

Wooden Hearts.

23.   Diane Warburton ~ http://diwarli.blogspot.co.uk/

This was a very last minute attempt at a card idea I had the day you have a little hint about what the challenge was going to be. I’ve only just finished it at 10.45 tonight (Wednesday) and I’ve just tried to get a decent photo of it, so I can send it on time. I started it at about 9.

I’ve no idea why I’ve put myself through this but I just ‘had’ to. I’m very tired after three 6a.m work starts this week and I haven’t had a good afternoon for a few reasons, so I’m so surprised I really pushed myself to get it finished on time. I even had to get Chris to help me when I did the final bit of glueing, as of course it didn’t get time to dry, as I would normally allow it to do. i raised most layers as I wanted to create shadows to provide more of the black from the theme.

I’m very annoyed with myself about the unstraight stitching marks along the top but I did try a couple of times and then had to just accept it, as time was running out and my eyes are barely staying open.

I’m confident it won’t be a match to any of the other usually terrific entries but at least I’m taking part, despite obstacles.

Please feel free to post this email as the description of my card, as I’m sure many other crafters go through a similar ‘urge’ even on bad days. I’m just so relieved that the muse was with me. Readers please do visit my blog at diwarli.blogspot.com and hopefully by then, I will have posted more details on how I achieved the result.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

32 responses to “TCN CRAFT CHALLENGE ~ It’s Just Black & White ~ Please Vote!

  1. lynseylovesxxx (@LynseyLovesxxx)

    September 13, 2012 at 10:52 am

    Wow what great entries, good luck everyone x
    By the way are we allowed to vote?

     
    • The Crafty Network

      September 13, 2012 at 12:22 pm

      Yes of course you can, you can even vote for yourself if you wish. It also helps if you ask fans of your own page to vote for you too! Lx

       
  2. Jennifer Webster

    September 13, 2012 at 11:02 am

    I vote for #20 – lynsey loves penguin cushion.

     
  3. Diane

    September 13, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    No1 = Handcrafted by Picto
    No2 = Knitting Paula’s -handbag
    No3 = Liz Swinbank -Little houses

    Brilliant projects yet again everyone – well done!

     
  4. Quirky Quartz

    September 13, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    My votes are;
    1st – No 7
    2nd – No 6
    3rd – No 19
    Good luck everyone 🙂

     
  5. Sue

    September 13, 2012 at 1:50 pm

    All great makes but I am going for :
    1 – 22
    2 – 21
    3 – 13

     
  6. Fiddly fingers

    September 13, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    I vote
    1st – No1
    2nd – No.9
    3rd – No. 22

     
  7. lynseylovesxxx (@LynseyLovesxxx)

    September 13, 2012 at 1:54 pm

    My votes :
    1 – 20 Penguin cushion
    2 – 19 Felt enchanted – love never ending story
    3 – 21 Waterlily Cards – not enough b&w films on tv anymore!

     
  8. Rose

    September 13, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    3 points to No 1
    2 points to No 12
    1 point to No 3

     
  9. Denise

    September 13, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    Hi everyone. Brilliant makes….
    My votes are…
    N.1 – 16
    N.2 – 1
    N.3 – 6
    Good Luck!

     
  10. lizzierosejewellery

    September 13, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    Hi, I vote for number 3 – knitted zebra hat – it’s too cute! Cath

     
  11. nanacathy2

    September 13, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    Hi
    My vote is
    15
    12
    19

     
  12. Mrs M

    September 13, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    Reblogged this on Mrs M Makes and commented:
    Wow! The entries in this challenge are amazing. Have a look.

    I know I have no chance of winning, but I have made something for me that I wear, so I guess that’s the main thing!

     
  13. Curls & Q

    September 13, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    #1 – My favorite

     
  14. Ginny

    September 13, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    I vote for #14-necklace and earrings, They are beautiful and I would wear them.

     
  15. helen

    September 13, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    I vote number 19 Felt enchanted

     
  16. Theresa Body

    September 13, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    No. 15 Sarah’s Card Creations – very classy x

     
  17. Yowe

    September 13, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    Hi, I’d like to vote for:

    1st – No 1 Liz Swinbank
    2nd – No 3 Angela’s Cute Crafts
    3rd – No 4 Quirky Quartz

    Thanks for running these competitions Linda. They are a great idea!

     
  18. Liz

    September 13, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    1st no.1
    2nd no 19
    3rd no.6

     
  19. Sue Edmunds

    September 13, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    Vote for No 19. Felt Enchanted lst.

     
  20. Andrew

    September 13, 2012 at 8:29 pm

    Vote for No. 1

     
  21. Alex

    September 13, 2012 at 8:46 pm

    Number 3: Angela’s Cute Crafts

     
  22. annabelsglassdesigns

    September 13, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    I vote for No 15, beautiful card.
    It doesn’t seem right to vote for myself, although I love cats!

     
  23. annabelsglassdesigns

    September 13, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    Reblogged this on Annabel's glassdesigns and commented:
    Check out these entries, some wonderful things and you might spot mine!

     
  24. adorabellaminis

    September 14, 2012 at 5:43 am

    I vote for no 19 – Felt Enchanted – Needle Felted sculpture of Falcor

     
  25. Teresa

    September 14, 2012 at 7:08 am

    1.14=3pts

    2.04=2pts

    3.07=1pt

     
  26. Liza Saxton

    September 14, 2012 at 7:15 am

    Hi there, I vote for No.19 (Falcor). Thank you )))))

     
  27. Jacqui Day

    September 14, 2012 at 7:43 am

    No. 19, Felt Enchanted

     
  28. Nicky Cooper

    September 14, 2012 at 8:31 am

    I vote for number 19! Felt Enchanted!

     
  29. Angela Turner

    September 14, 2012 at 9:23 am

    Hello, it doesn’t seem right to vote for myselfI so I would like to vote for:
    1: 17
    2: 12
    3: 16

     
  30. tara east

    September 14, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    1st No 1
    2nd No 2

    3rd No 12

     

Leave a Reply

 
