RSS

The Crafty Network ~ 13th June Mini Challenge “Craft in Music “

12 Jun

I’ve had the idea for this theme for a while now, but I wasn’t quite sure what to call it or how to put it across to inspire you, because I’ve realised that is the key to getting all you lovely crafters to send me your entries!

I love listening to music and have my iPod on most of the time, especially when I’m crafting.  Music and certain songs can change my mood, make me want to dance, inspire me, stir emotion, relax me and remind me of many special events throughout my life.  I think you can all relate to this and I hope you agree?  So I was thinking the theme for this week could be a for a piece/craft item related to or inspired by music or a song, it could be classical, folk, pop, metal, punk anything, a song title or lyric, a hymn even a nursery rhyme that has inspired your item, the possibilities are endless!

So that’s the idea for the theme for this week, but then I struggled with the title  ‘A CRAFTY SONG’, ‘NAME THAT SONG’, ‘CRAFTING LYRICAL’ INSPIRED BY A SONG’ was some of the few titles I came up with at first, but then the Sister Sledge Song ‘Lost in Music’ came on my iPod playlist and this title popped in my head for the challenge  ‘CRAFT IN MUSIC’.  I think we can all get lost in our Crafts, and if you listen to some of the lyrics they can be quite apt if you change the word ‘MUSIC’ to ‘CRAFT’, I certainly quit my 9 to 5!

All I ask is that when you send in your entry, you tell me the song title, the music or lyric that inspires or is associated with the piece, you can tell me a little story if you like, it’s up to you?

HERE ARE A FEW QUOTES ABOUT SONGS/MUSIC FOR YOU:

Life is a song – sing it. Life is a game – play it. Life is a challenge – meet it. Life is a dream – realize it. Life is a sacrifice – offer it. Life is love – enjoy it.

A bird doesn’t sing because it has an answer, it sings because it has a song.

The history of a people is found in its songs. (George Jellinek)

Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”  (Berthold Auerbach)

“Love is like a violin. The music may stop now and then, but the strings remain forever.” (June Masters Bacher)

“Music is expression of harmony in sound. Love is the expression of harmony in life.” (Stephen)

“Music is Love in search of a word.” (Sidney Lanier)

There are more love songs than anything else. If songs could make you do something we’d all love one another. (Frank Zappa)

If music be the food of love, play on!  (William Shakespeare)

******************************************************************************************************************************************

Please interpret the theme however you wish, all you have to remember is it must be handmade and please tell me the song/music/lyric that inspired it.  Look at what you have already made, as I don’t expect you to make something specifically for the challenge, unless of course you want to.

Good luck everyone, fingers crossed I’ve inspired you enough to send in an entry and please be brave enough to join in and send in a photo of your crafts. I know many of you have said in the past you are a bit scared to send in an entry, it’s all for fun, another way to promote your business and I’d love to encourage everyone to have a go! 🙂

All entries to be emailed to: thecraftynetwork@gmail.com to be received no later than Wednesday the 13th June at 12 midnight (GMT time).  Only one entry (photograph) per person/business.  For the full rules please visit this link Mini Challenge Rules.

Thanks & Good luck.

Linda x

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
