RSS

The Crafty Network Featured Seller ~ Dab and a Dash

20 Feb

Many times I have seen photos of Laura’s items pop up on our page and in some of our Showcases and I’ve always been attracted by the bright and colourful designs she uses in her journals.  So I got in touch with Laura of Dab and a Dash and asked if she would agree to being featured on our Blog and I’m happy to say she agreed.

Lorna Wright

Tell us a bit about your background and your business?

I make journals, most of them have stitched binding and all have fabric covers.

I try to use recycled fabrics (especially children’s clothing) or remnants so each one is unique.

How did your interest start?

I had built up a large collection of fabrics and patterned papers and after an unsuccessful search for a unique journal decided to make one…

What training have you had?

None, in fact at school my needlework was shockingly bad!

Where do you find your inspiration?

Everywhere.

I love colour and textures. Although I’m not brave to be as bold as I would like.

How do you manage to keep yourself motivated?

Motivation isn’t hard, its finding the time that is.

Do you have a favourite tool/piece of equipment?

My craft knife. It took me a long time to find one that suits me.

My corner chomper, a friend brought it for me and it cuts through so many materials.

Where do you sell/exhibit your work?

Folksy.com (http://folksy.com/shops/dabdash)

WowThankYou.co.uk (http://www.wowthankyou.co.uk/dab-and-a-dash/)

Local Craft Fairs

Tell us about some of your favourite pieces?

London bus and postbox journal

This journal uses a photo taken by my 11yr old son:

http://folksy.com/items/2290449-British-Journal-Notebook-showing-London-Bus-Postbox

This one was my first journal using a new style of binding and I love the colour combo:

Butterfly Journal

http://www.wowthankyou.co.uk/dab-and-a-dash/products/beautiful-butterfly-journal/

Last one. I love deer and this journal turned out better than I imagined it:

http://folksy.com/items/2202957-Journal-Notebook-with-

Cute Deer Journal

Cute-Deer

What are your goals/plans for the future?

To expand my bookbinding skills.

To enjoy what I do and be able to continue to make and sell journals.

When you first started if you could have been given one piece of advice what would it have been and what advice would you pass on?

One piece of advice I wish I had been told was sales don’t happen instantly, or that they are regular.

The advice I would pass on is: Promote and then promote some more!

Lorna

{Dab and a dash}

Email: dabandadash@hotmail.co.uk

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Featured Sellers

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Crafty Network Featured Seller ~ Dab and a Dash

  1. Diane

    February 20, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Thanks Lorna for the advice and the little insight into your business. Good luck with it all!

     
  2. Lorna May

    February 21, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Thank you Diane for your lovely comment :o)

    Ekkk a featured seller. Thank you for a great post. Will keep me blushing and smiling for a while.

    {Dab and a dash.}

     

Leave a Reply

 
