RSS

This Crafty Business ~ 2012 Start as you mean to go on

05 Jan

You’ve decided that 2012 is going to be the year that your idea for a business becomes a reality or the business you are developing is going to really fly. What happens if what you want from your business and what you can do are sitting across the room, politely waving at each other but refusing to make eye contact?

Oddly enough, last year at exactly the same day as today,  I was those two people waving like lunatics at each other from across the room. I had no creative energy, felt like I was on my own in the vast ocean of sole business ownership and to boot, I really felt like I had no physical energy.

Enter the pity party for one.

But I decided that feeling sorry for myself wasn’t going to get me anywhere. So I did what I call a “friendervention” and tapped into a very good friend of mine on how to get out of my funk – so one year on, I thought the original unedited post would make an interesting read for those stuck in creative purgatory:

========================================================================

January 04, 2011

Want to know a few tricks to get motivated for 2011?

Okay – 2011 is here and my motivation is still in 2010! I feel like my list just grows of things to do and my time to do it in just grows shorter. So this morning, whilst sitting at my laptop and staring at the abyss of work-yet-to-be done – I thought “how does someone whose job is to motivate people actually motivate themselves?”. And then I thought, “hey, my friend Carolyn is a life coach, so I will ask her”!

Carolyn Ou is the owner of SandBox Consulting, located in Chicago,Illinois, where she is a career, life and leadership coach. She helps people get the moxie they need to help focus on their careers. I asked Caroline what she does when she needs to get (and stay motivated) – her answer was so insightful on many levels (personal, small business owner, parent), I thought I would share it with you and see if there is something in it that you find helpful in getting your head around 2011:

That is such a GREAT question! What I do when I’m faced with a lot of tasks just like the ones you described, is remind myself of what it is I’m trying to create for the year…or for my life.

For some people, it’s the company vision. But sometimes for a small business owner, that’s a lot to develop and can be frightening. So I always recommend just creating a simple vision or theme for the year, for your life and your work.

For me, for example, for 2011, I have this picture of Roberto Benigni accepting his Oscar for La Vita Bella, climbing over chairs and guests, etc., and just being incredibly OUT THERE! That’s my reminder that 2011 is my year to be out there in the world, expressing what I need to express, being joyful, asking questions, asking for favors, celebrating, whatever, even if I look silly in the process.

For me, having that image motivates me and allows me to even enjoy the tedious stuff, knowing that it’s going to help me accomplish what I want to in my life. The underlying goal for me is to be speaking in front of huge numbers of people this year, and impacting their lives that way, rather than being behind the scenes.

What you might want to do is remind yourself what’s in it for you; what you’re creating in the world, and what pieces of it bring you joy, and if you can create visual reminders of that for yourself, that will help keep you motivated.

========================================================================

It took me a week or so to really engage with it, but when I did, the fog of funkness started to lift. I did make a vision board but as I really like to write – mine was more statements of what I wanted to achieve. I decided that instead of just acting like I wanted to make some changes, I was actually going to do what Carolyn had suggested.

Once I started the changes, I noticed that oddly enough, things started to  happen. Not immediately, but it was almost like really tapping in to what motivates you every day, allows it to enter your stream of conscience and then suddenly, the wheels are rolling. I started to rework my business plan (okay – don’t get excited , two sheets of A4 with extensive notes written on them!), picked out what needed to be developed and put in a rather loose timeline.

But before you think it just started to manifest itself, I have to say that I fully engaged with where I thought I needed to up the pace a bit to make that vision board a reality. I really worked to develop my brand, got Twitter and Facebook friendly, and made a commitment to do one thing every week that I wasn’t comfortable with to stretch myself. In other words. I worked my tail end off like I never thought I would!

And it has made a difference – I personally am looking forward to all that 2012 has to offer.  But as I know what a hurdle getting motivated to feel that good can be, I thought in addition to Carolyn’s words of wisdom, I would add a few other items I have found really useful:

When you are having a bad patch, get in contact with someone (a friend, become a forum member or a mentor) who is a good listener and have a moan with them about what is going on with you and your motivation. Working on your own can easily skew your thoughts dis-proportionally and you need to have someone give you some balance.

Be easy on yourself and whatever you do, don’t compare yourself and your business to anyone else!  I had a friend who was having a crisis of confidence as her lovely little business had become the focus of a local competitor who was setting up a similar business. I told her about the McDonald’s theory – all fast food services are basically the same but we chose one over the other for sometimes something as simple as one has cleaner toilets than the other one! In other words, people will choose you and your business because you tick a psychological box that only you can.  So stick with what makes you and your business uniquely you and you are on to a winner!

And lastly, even with all the doom and gloom about the economy, this is such an exciting time to be a small business!  Did you know that small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) together accounted for 99.9 per cent of all enterprises?  Have you seen the sheer number of free software packages and apps to make life easier for the small business? Not convinced? PayPal helped all of us get on-line – but I am tapping 2012 as the year for software such as Square to change how we small merchants can be even more flexible on getting payment. Viva the small business!

I hope that helps you all feel a bit more upbeat about the new year – and any items you want to discuss, feel free to fire our way.

Maeri

www.themakeanddostudio.co.uk

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/The-Make-and-Do-Studio/128809040506609

Twitter – @MakeandDoStudio

Folksy

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2012 in This Crafty Business

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “This Crafty Business ~ 2012 Start as you mean to go on

  1. Jenni Harris

    January 5, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    Wow what a great post Maeri, this upbeat blog has arrived in my inbox at just the right time….thank you for some much needed “frientervension” !

     
  2. Mona Cheah

    January 6, 2012 at 12:59 am

    This has got me thinking. I’ve been dithering between continuing on my original business plan and doing what I really like. Having someone to talk to is critical to keeping the motivation. I find myself re-energised after I bounce ideas off my partner.

     
  3. Mandy

    January 8, 2012 at 7:36 pm

    nail, hammer, hit,,,,

    Thank you

     
  4. Diane

    January 9, 2012 at 11:28 am

    This is brief but to the point. Do what you like! In that, doing what ‘you’ (or more to the point; what ‘I’ like) is the best way forward. My only problem is that I like too many things; I haven’t found my niche yet. I need to do a plan for the year to try to ensure I at least start with good intentions of achievement and that plan can help to motivate me, when at times like this in pig miserable weather days and other factors which affect my motivation. In fact, now, I should do it now!

     
    • The Crafty Network

      January 9, 2012 at 5:13 pm

      We know what you mean, January/February are never good months to feel motivated, that’s why we felt we would offer our help and support and try and make things different this year. Look at using this time to try new things and find your niche and anytime you need some support, or feel frustrated let us be your friends. TCN x

       
      • Diane

        January 9, 2012 at 6:55 pm

        Thanks, I actually did my ‘Crafty plan’ as I called it today. It’s very short but basically lists projects I definitely want to complete this year. That’s rather vague I know but even that will help keep me focused and maybe this will be the year that I find an opportunity for income and go with it full hog. Just focusing on the plan is a way forward, giving me more purpose.

        I’ll be back! 🙂

         
  5. rowansong

    January 10, 2012 at 11:59 am

    Wonderful inspiring post! I will share on my FB page :). I always use my break over xmas and new year to write a goals list for the year and to look back on how I did on last year’s. I try to make it a mixture of quickly achievable things with some bigger challenges that will keep me going all year. I find being able to look back at what I’ve completed, ticking things off the list as I go really helps to keep me motivated and give me a positive feeling of achievement. I break bigger tasks or projects down into bitesize pieces so that I don’t have to complete the whole thing before I can see some progress and a few more ticks! This year I am also trying to make sure I do something towards one of my goals each day even if it’s something small like finding a piece of information I need. It’s amazing how much that makes me want to do the next bit and the next and the next! I guess this might seem like overkill to some lol, but I know I can get disorganised very quickly without structure, so it really helps me stay on track!

     
    • Diane

      January 10, 2012 at 6:40 pm

      That’s not OTT at all; it’s what I do. I’m currently doing an i-phone app thing as well, to make that a little different. Basically it’s just me taking at least one photo a day of what I’ve done. Sometimes it’s just a photo of a computer screen showing the workshop I’ve signed up for; it doesn’t have to be grand. All great plans start with a small step or whatever that saying is.

      Good luck with it all

       

Leave a Reply

 
IreneIrving's Crafty Creative

Hand made creative capers, needle felt, fibres and mumbles ;)

Itchy Crochet

on love, life, and crochet

Life with Crafts

How to make the most of your crafty time.

AlikiArtyCraftyMagpie

Just another WordPress.com site

craftyscrappershop

A fine WordPress.com site

Gembobs Inspiration

Gemmas Tutorials, Inventions, Ideas, Inspiration and Creations

Grab a coffee

I felt creative today ... - http://grabacoffee.etsy.com

UK Crochet Patterns

We seriously heart crochet and love to promote patterns in UK terms!

SteinerMomma

Our learning journey; rural life and Steiner education

Catatan dari Zion kota damai

Aku adalah anak Gembala

Baked By Mummy Iris

Behind the scenes! A space to document adventures as Wife, New Mummy and Owner of BAKED BY ME, www.bakedbyme.net

Crochet Eclectics

Exploring the world of crochet

bewishful

Start Making Jewellery

Timetobeme's Blog

a mother/ housewifes jouney to find herself.

Ed Muirhead

New-fashioned folksongs

jojococonut

Rescue a Hidden Gem, Sprinkle a Little Magic, Relove and Treasure.

My Blanket Box

Crochet, crafting and creativity. Join me on my adventures x

Scavenger Annie

Sharing my adventures in alternative embroidery and vintage sewing whilst traversing the world of social media.

designedunique

An artist's struggle to design, make and sell unique creations.

sylviasclosetuk

Speaking my mind and some arts and crafts

Purple RaRa

Stuff I've made

Amiguruthi

www.amiguruthi.wordpress.com

Shoebox2keepsake's Blog

creating custom-designed scrapbooks... just for you

Plums Are Also Round

...well kind of! The ramblings, findings and the little things in life that inspire and make me smile!

Little Me

A little craft bird with insomnia and glitter in her hair

Handmade By Mel Hearn

Made-to-measure curtains and bespoke fabric gifts

trickyfairie

practical magic, pain management and joyful journeys

Mrs M Makes

Join me in my crafty adventures!

Crocknits's Blog

Designed,Handmade,Crochet & Knitted by CrocKnits

Sticky-Back-Tastic

HERE'S ONE I MADE EARLIER

Offbeat Beads

Making and creating contemporary Jewellery and Crafts

carajilloblog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

SciFire

From South Africa With Love

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life, one crafting adventure at a time.

The sock garden

Cute & Crazy handmade creatures

JustinaWei

The Fashion/Make up/Lifestyle Blog

HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

made.in.transylvania

an archive of traditional and modern transylvanian crafts

Life isn't so much a puzzle as it is a plan

I live. I think. I write. I shoot. Unedited.

Ondine Blue Designs

The Blue Faerie's Adventures in jewellery making

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

Card Times

for handmade cards!

Crafting Glass

My Bohemian Life

Wood and Rope

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside ⚓

embroiderycrazy

I run an online site selling embroidery machine designs.

