RSS

A Good week ~ Blog Recommendations & Awards!

06 May

It has been a really good week this week.  Firstly, the TCN Mini Challenge worked far better than I expected and we exceeded more than 500 views on the Blog in just one day!   Second, I have just found out that our Blog has been recommended in the latest issue of Craft Seller Magazine, June 2012 issue, page 11 if you are interested, please say hello if you found us via this article?

And now I have found out that we have been nominated by Blue Button Press for the Versatile Blogger Award (VBA).  I’m sooo HAPPY :).

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU.

Being nominated the VBA was a lovely surprise and something I had not heard of before, so after reading the very interesting random things about Blue Button Press. You must go over and read their Blog, it is very good, but please come back after reading it. I was straight over to the VBA page to find out about the award.  It transpires by the fact that you have been nominated means you have been awarded the award, Yeh, Our First, thank you!

 So there are some rules associated with receiving the VBA:

  1. Add the award to your blog. (Tick)
  2. Thank the blogger who gave it to you.  Thank you to Blue Button Press, it is much appreciated.
  3. List the rules. (Tick)
  4. Mention 7 random things about yourself. See below. (Tick)
  5. Award to 15 or more bloggers. Also see below. (Tick)

OK, 7 Random things about me, here goes!

1.  Many, many years ago I used to be an Avon Rep, don’t knock it until you’ve tried it.  I did it for about 4 years from being about 15.  It provided me with a good source of ‘pocket money/income’ whilst I was in school and at college, if I remember rightly I used to get about 25% commission, which was really good, I don’t know what they get now.  Also, some of my best customers were men, I somehow persuaded them it would be less embarrassing to buy from me than have to go into a shop!

Not any more though!

2. I was about 8 months pregnant with my first son, when the IRA bomb went off in Warrington Town Centre.  I was shopping upstairs in Boots with my husband as the bomb went off outside the front of the store, very scary and a bit too close!

3.  My favourite film is Bridget Jones’s Diary, purely for Colin Firth and Hugh Grant, but mainly for Colin Firth.

4.My favourite Book is Pride & Prejudice, I must have read this about 6 times, but I do imagine Colin Firth as Mr Darcy, I can’t help it!  There is also nothing better than watching the BBC adaptation of it for 7 hours straight with a bottle of wine and a large box of chocolates.

5. I help my kids collect autographs, although we’ve not collected any for quite a while now.  We have collected a lot from the Harry Potter cast.  I also have a few autographs of my own from; Colin Firth, Hugh Grant, Robert Pattinson (Twilight),  Robert Downey Jnr to name just a few!

6. I love crisps, all flavours, although my current favourite has to be M&S Roast Beef & Onion.  I could survive off crisps if there was no other food.  Not very healthy I know!

7. I can touch the bottom of my nose with my tongue!  (No picture thank goodness!)

I’m still learning a lot about Blogging, it’s not something I had ever considered doing or thought I would do, until I started The Crafty Network.  But now I am well and truly hooked, I am also inspired and helped by many great Bloggers out there.  Here are just a few that I would like to share with you and Award the VBA:

Business Boom Bolton

The Sock Garden:

Lizzie Rose Jewellery:

Ravens Stained Glass:

Art profiles world:

JK Cards:

Amy orange juice:

The Cosy Creative:

Creating Laura:

Ukcraftblog:

Knitting My Own Yoghurt:

Say It Says: /

Handmade Harbour:

Ello-Designs:

Wow Embossing powder:

Have a great day and always remember to do something you enjoy every day.

Linda x

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “A Good week ~ Blog Recommendations & Awards!

  1. bluebuttonpress

    May 6, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    Congrats on all the blog love, you deserve it! I love your 7 things, yikes about the bomb, that sounds way too close. I’m going to grab a coffee and visit your list of award winning blogs. Take care.

     
  2. lwcreations

    May 6, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    Congratulations on the article and the blog award – way to go! I have to say I could live on crisps too lol my fav flavour is salt and vinegar but I love a frazzle too!

     
  3. embroiderycrazy

    May 8, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Hi! Found you after reading Craftseller. I’m always happy to find other wordpress craft bloggers. Lots to read on your blog so I will be back as it looks right up my street. (:

     
    • The Crafty Network

      May 8, 2012 at 5:14 pm

      Oh brilliant, welcome to The Crafty Network. I hope you find us helpful, friendly and informative. If you run a craft business and would like to be listed in one of our directories then please just let me know. Thanks for visiting. Linda x

       
  4. businessboombolton

    May 8, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    thanks for including us, we are honored!

     
  5. lizzierosejewellery

    May 16, 2012 at 10:32 am

    Dear Linda, belated congratulations on the VBA, and thanks for mentioning me! I read your 7 random things and couldn’t believe it: I was an Avon lady too from the age of 15 to 19, I love the TV Pride & Prejudice (can’t watch it now as it’s still on VHS!). I have a packet of crisps everyday and even hide them from my kids (because they are unhealthy of course) and my party trick is touching my nose with my tongue! How bizarre! Cath.

     
    • The Crafty Network

      May 16, 2012 at 12:08 pm

      Oh WOW what a coincidence, I hide my crisps too from the kids! Lx

       

Leave a Reply

 
IreneIrving's Crafty Creative

Hand made creative capers, needle felt, fibres and mumbles ;)

Itchy Crochet

on love, life, and crochet

Life with Crafts

How to make the most of your crafty time.

AlikiArtyCraftyMagpie

Just another WordPress.com site

craftyscrappershop

A fine WordPress.com site

gembobs crafts

Tips, Tutorials and Lots of Crafts!

Grab a coffee

Grab a coffee ... I felt creative today ...

UK Crochet Patterns

We seriously heart crochet and love to promote patterns in UK terms!

Metro

Metro.co.uk: News, Sport, Showbiz, Celebrities from Metro Newspaper

SteinerMomma

Our learning journey; rural life and Steiner education

Catatan dari Zion kota damai

Aku adalah anak Gembala

Baked By Me

Little blog by www.bakedbyme.net ! All baked by Iris

Crochet Eclectics

Exploring the world of crochet

bewishful

Start Making Jewellery

Timetobeme's Blog

a mother/ housewifes jouney to find herself.

Ed Muirhead

New-fashioned folksongs

jojococonut

Rescue a Hidden Gem, Sprinkle a Little Magic, Relove and Treasure.

bekaboodesigns

Crochet, crafting and creativity. Join me on my adventures x

Calico Dreams

Welcome to the blog of Scavenger Annie, a Lancashire lass stitching up alternative embroidered threads with a twist

designedunique

An artist's struggle to design, make and sell unique creations.

sylviasclosetuk

Speaking my mind and some arts and crafts

Purple RaRa

Stuff I've made

Amiguruthi

www.amiguruthi.wordpress.com

Shoebox2keepsake's Blog

creating custom-designed scrapbooks... just for you

Plums Are Also Round

...well kind of! The ramblings, findings and the little things in life that inspire and make me smile!

Little Me

A little craft bird with insomnia and glitter in her hair

Handmade By Mel Hearn

Made-to-measure curtains and bespoke fabric gifts

trickyfairie

practical magic, pain management and joyful journeys

Mrs M Makes

Join me in my crafty adventures!

Crocknits's Blog

Designed,Handmade,Crochet & Knitted by CrocKnits

Sticky-Back-Tastic

HERE'S ONE I MADE EARLIER

Offbeat Beads

Making and creating contemporary Jewellery and Crafts

carajilloblog

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

SciFire

From South Africa With Love

Is That You Darling

Look up at the stars not down at your feet

Handmade by Hannah

Day to day life one crafting adventure at a time.

The sock garden

Cute & Crazy handmade creatures

businessconsortsocialmediaacademy

The Premier Social Media Academy

JustinaWei

The Fashion/Make up/Lifestyle Blog

HandmadebyClaireBear

confessions of a fabric obsessive

made.in.transylvania

an archive of traditional and modern transylvanian crafts

Life isn't so much a puzzle as it is a plan

I live. I think. I write. I shoot. Unedited.

Ondine Blue Designs

The Blue Faerie's Adventures in jewellery making

hopelovesjohnnie

All that sparkles and glitters-handmade with love...

Card Times

for handmade cards!

Crafting Glass

My Bohemian Life

Wood and Rope

Oh I do like to be beside the seaside ⚓

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,576 other followers

